Chamber Music: The Lark Ascending

Chamber Music: The Lark Ascending

New World Symphony

Oct 9, 2022
Starting: 2:00 PM


Enjoy an intimate concert featuring NWS Fellows and Grammy-nominated violinist Jennifer Frautschi on Sunday, October 9. Praised by Cleveland Classical as performing with "breathtaking conflation of grace and grit", Ms. Frautschi makes her anticipated NWS debut with the violin solo from Ralph Vaughan Williams' The Lark Ascending, a soaring beautiful work inspired by a poem by George Meredith that describes a bird in flight. The evening's program also features works by Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson and Kevin Day

Kevin Day - Ignition for Low Brass Quartet (2020)
Hanns Eisler - Divertimento for Wind Quintet, Op. 4 (1923)
Ralph Vaughan Williams - The Lark Ascending (1914; revised 1920)
Felix Mendelssohn - Trio in C minor for Piano, Violin and Cello, Op. 66 (1845)
Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson - Quartet No. 1 for Strings, “Calvary” (1956)

This concert is part of NWS' Chamber Music Series, featuring NWS Fellows and acclaimed guest artists collaborating in an intimate concert setting. The series showcases a wide range of repertoire for small ensembles and chamber orchestra.


  • {{amenity.title}} {{ amenity.value }}


  • {{item.title}} {{item.title}}: {{ item.value }}

Sports Amenities


  • {{ item.value }}